I know Canny Ong

I must be the slowest person on earth.

Despite having read reports about the recent abduction and possible murder of Ipohite Canny Ong, and having seen pictures of her plastered in papers everywhere, I did not realise that it was the same Canny I knew when I was a teenager. Although Canny was from Main Convent, a rival school of mine (MGS), we met socially from time to time during school dances and the like. I remember her to be this slightly chubby but gorgeous girl who had numerous admirers, one of those people blessed with effortless beauty that would no doubt bring her far. Because the 14-year old Canny looked so different from the pictures of her in the papers of late, I could not even recognise this old face from my past.

Sad that tragedy had to be the bearer of such memories…

Update: I found a site that her co-workers/friends have put up for her, simply named Bring Canny Home. Perhaps YOU may have something to offer…

Leave a Reply

