Highs and lows

The trouble with my line of work is that when it rains it pours, and when it’s dry, it’s a freakin’ drought! Well, it’s rainy season here at The Writing Pool. I just finished my monthly contribution to PC.com, and am now worrying about my assignments for Computerworld because my liaison there has not reverted – and it’s getting late!

Sigh, oh well. The highlight of my day is I signed up for Maybank2u! Yay, now I can pay SO many of my bills online, including interbank transfers.

Great, I’m a bigger hermit than before!

Oh yea, I created a small blog for my little girl hehe. Have a look!

There’s a very lively discussion going on at Wordup! today about women and self defence, in the wake of Canny Ong’s tragedy, whether we should carry pepper sprays, a comparision of mace and pepper sprays, how women should defend themsevles with keys and fingernails and high-heels. It dawned on me that really women these days just may be too frail and dainty and concerned with their looks that they’ve forgotten that there ARE bad things and bad people out there. C’mon girls! Spunk up! Go for martial arts lessons or at least have enough spirit to want to fight back. I always wondered why Canny did not fight back. Maybe the guy is tougher than he looks, coz he sure looks like a loser-wimpy ass to me.

Seriously, I think having keys in your good hand, wherever you may be walking alone or just a couple of you, is just good sense. Not your house keys or car keys coz the assailant may want to rob you of your earthly possesions as well, but just some “self-defence” keys, sharp enough to poke his eyes out or dig a hole in his thigh. Someone suggested kicking his gonads with pointy shoes, which I don’t happen to own. So I guess Mace and keys will have to do.

What do y’all think? Post comments on my zonkboard!

Leave a Reply

