Blogging for glory

Someone said that bloggers are attention whores – who isn’t? Why do women like to shop? So that they can look their best. Why do they want to look their best? Because they want admiration and awe (read: attention), and if possible, even evoke a little bit of jealousy. Now I believe that a woman is truly beautiful ONLY if another woman thinks she is – because women are naturally catty! I know I am šŸ™‚

But this isn’t what I wanted to say. What I wanted to report was that – drumroll – I’ve been selected to be a beta-tester for Project Petaling St!! Yay! Well, I’m charged with blogging for a purpose (not that I don’t have enough but I’m the sort who needs to throw her hat over the fence to get REALLY going) to test out their content feeding engine, just to see if it can withstand the traffic. A nobel feat indeed. And one that *hopefully* will get more traffic to my site :D. Attention! Gimme attention!

Anyway, back to beautiful women. Just yesterday, my hubby, and several other hot-blooded men spending a quiet afternoon at Starbucks in Bukit Damansara, were treated to a sight that trascended words and expensive, pretentious coffee – for a minute, that is. This Malay (think she is, not sure) goddess with honey coloured skin and breasts that were not at all gross in a white embroidered low-cut Lycra blouse and a sheer flair shirt that you could see through, especially because she was very nicely tanned and wore a white thong, came in, bought an espresso to go, and in what seemed like a slow fluid motion, swished through the glass doors of the cafe in her stilleto sandals (against the light) and away from our lives. It was as if time stood still. As a woman, I was both awe-struck, struck dumb and suddenly felt myself very ugly.

My hubby later came in the car with our lattes and asked if I saw the apparition in white. I said I did, and he gave me a long hug.

Ah well. You can’t win ’em all.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Revisiting this topic, it's because I was a journalist, and I'd wanted to write about other things in my life, put stuff out there I otherwise would not have the opportunity to write about, use that creative side of my brain a little. Rant a little. Share info, links, opinions. I started blogs for my girls because I'd wanted them to have something to look back at when they grow up, an accessible, searchable archive of their lives as little babies and kids. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

