On the record

Firstly, my apologies for not blogging the last two days. I had deadlines up to my nose. Any of you writers out there use a recorder to tape your interviews and then hate transcribing because you hate your own voice, plus wished you didn’t ask some of the questions you did, which suddenly sound quite ignorant and/or stupid (something you don’t notice during the interview)? Well, I spent the weekend doing that and must’ve winced a couple of dozen times, that I had to stop for a while.

Happens EVERYtime.

The problem with me is that I tend to drift. I would be curious about one thing and then another, stray off the agenda, only to return to it to find most of my questions answered. And then you get an interviewee who keeps glancing at his list of questions, wondering if we’re EVER going to return, because he’s prepared all the answers neatly. I’m far from neat. In fact, I never really liked preparing questions in the first place, because interviews should be inpromptu, right?

Oh well. That’s why I could not blog. I was busy wincing.

Leave a Reply

