Why do you keep looking away?

This morning, I reprimanded my three-year old for speaking rudely to our maid, Yati.

After ten minutes on the ‘naughty chair’, it was lecture time. I asked if she understood why Mommy was angry.

“Because I didn’t speak nicely to kakak.”

To get her to say that, she kept averting her eyes. I had to get her to look into mine a dozen times. Frustrated, I asked.

“Why do you keep looking away? Why can’t you look at mommy when mommy is talking to you?”

Solemnly, she turned to me me and said:

“Because eyes can also look here and there, mommy.”

 

Yes, I burst out laughing.

More than a little bit.

Leave a Reply

