Making new friends

If there is one thing I’m truly anxious about moving to the States, is whether or not I can still make new friends.

According to The Hubby, we’ve gotten some invites for dim sum and dinners from some of his colleagues and also some old Malaysian colleagues who have also made the move there.

I think it’s really nice of them to welcome us there, but I can’t stop thinking about what we’ll talk about. The wives, who are not working, will probably share tips about grocery prices there, or the best routes to supermarkets or childcare advice. Since I JUST got into this whole housewife, jobless in Seattle thing, I’ll just be sitting and listening. And those of you who know me know that I LOVE to talk.

But when it comes to really bonding with someone, I have trouble. No, it’s not that I think I have enough friends that I am physically unable to MAKE anymore, or that I’m stuffy about meeting new people. Rather, I lack social skills integrating new people into my life.

I mean, most of my friends are all over five years old. Now I have to make a completely new set. Isn’t it weird, to suddenly bitch about your in-laws or kids or sex life with people you’ve only known for a few months? Is it possible to make intimate friends with people one has only known for weeks or even months?

I really_don’t_know. Perhaps this wall I’ve built is solid rock only an ocean of time can dissolve.

Or perhaps a few glasses of good wine.

In any case, I still have this blog. And you, my dear readers.

Which is the real irony, since I don’t even know HALF, if not more, of you!

5 Comments »

  1. LP said

    You will be just fine, don’t worry. I bet they probably will give you tips on how to deal with the weather change and share with you their experienced when they first got here. I believe you will make a lot of friends here. Feel free to write to me anytime if you have any question or just want to talk to a Malaysian.

  2. Frosty said

    Dont worry, Jenn. The more u worry, lest u feel comfortable when u r there. Treat it like u going for Uncle Domo.. :O. Everything is new like playing a new class.. :O

  3. Cherry said

    hello Jenn..
    been a silent reader for a long time already. started to get acquainted with you and your lovely family when you wrote for MSN woman.
    don’t worry…i’m sure you’ll make new friends. my sister made a move from new zealand back to singapore after a decade. and she made new friends too. her neighbour is one. her son’s kindergarten friends’ mommys are another.

    but then again..i can understand how u feel too. it is also hard for me to open up and make new friends too. but we all have to try don’t we? belum cuba..belum tahu πŸ˜›

    have a good time in the US. seattle? great place for shopping and very near vancouver where the lovely whistler mountains is just dying to be skied..hehe..

    p.s. raeven and skyler have really grown up fast haven’t they? so pretty girls you got there!

  4. Lamer Dog said

    Actually from my experience in Redmond for 4 years, you will certainly feel you can get along better with people there than in Malaysia and your kids will live a better life.

    They’re more open minded and the living standards are much higher.

    The only downside is that all your other family members will be far away from you guys πŸ™‚

  5. chongyee said

    hahah congrats i am sure u will do fine πŸ˜‰ i am facing the same stuff here in perth been back for more than a month.. only one friend from old time hahah
    see ya online from time to time

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

