TB positive? WTF?

I think I might be hypo. I mean, I’m sure I’m not, but hospitals do NOT creep me out at all. In fact, I kinda like ’em.

Except maybe the old ones.

Anyway, I went to the hospital again today to check my TB test (required of new mommy workers at the preschool) and whaddya know, it came back red-welt positive. Of course I was a little taken aback and would’ve reacted, if not for the calm, unsurprised faces of the three nurses who were more occupied with bitching about work conditions than the Southeast Asian, who probably got her BCG shot when she was a child, that then triggered the positive outcome.

So I had to go and get an x-ray. Got asked a bunch of questions by the geriatric receptionist whom her colleagues didn’t seem to like very much judging from a one way-conversation that ended with “she’s ignoring us”, which was pretty much witnessed by the whole lobby of four to five patients. After chatting with her, she dealt me the name of a primary doctor (we don’t have one), but not without some dramatic cloak-and-dagger act.

“I’m not supposed to do this,” she scribbles a name and number on a piece of post-it, “but I have a LOT of faith in HER.” More looking left and right. “I mean, people have different likes and dislikes about their doctors, so, “shakes her head at me as if to discount herself from any chance that I might sue her for illegal family doctor referencing in case he/she turns out to be a total quack.

I nodded at her, smiling graciously, “It’s okay.” What, you think I’ll rat out on an 85-year old lady? I’m Chinese. We are sopan-santun to a fault.

“Tell her the gal from x-ray sent ya,” she said, and then let out a cackle, before returning to her 10-word-per-minute typing.

What the hell was that? Mental note to throw away post-it.

Not that I’m not grateful, but that was just too funny not to blog about.

Anyway, took my x-ray, and now just have to wait for the radiologist to confirm my third-world lungs are not diseased.

Leave a Reply

