Learning about Catholicism

I’m almost done reading Steve Berry’s The Third Secret, which when Googled, also revealed that the Fatima seeing is a true story.

Of course, reality, in this case, isn’t as mysterious as fiction, although I was taken aback by the fact that one can actually find the actual secret online.

Now I am a Christian but I haven’t gone to church in over ten years. Being a Methodist, my religious experience is obviously very different from the Catholic Christian’s. As such, I also know very little about the Virgin beyond the fact that she’s the mother of Christ, and about the Vatican or the pope beyond what I’d read in the Da Vinci code, and now The Third Secret.

Suffice to say, particularly after Berry’s book, I am now curious enough to save money and travel to Rome and the Vatican to experience for myself all the fuss that is organised religion. The culture will, I suspect, be mind-boggling.

Has anyone, reading my blog, been to Vatican City? Can people, half-arsed Christians like myself included, just walk in?

5 Comments »

  1. Sui Lynn said

    You can actually walk into the Vatican City, most parts are open to visitors while some quarters are restricted area (only for the church people incl the pope, I think).

    I remember seeing the Swiss guards on duty – good looking hunks, some of them.

    And I remember the 3D effects brought about by the paintings of the Renaissance artists eg Leonardo da Vinci and Michaelangelo.

    I’m not a Christian, but the visit and experience was worth the $$$ spent to get there. 🙂

  2. Wow. I am definitely going there! Of course, the more important question is: Issit expensive?

  3. Mei said

    Try to get your hands on the Nat Geo documentary “Inside The Vatican City”. It’s very informative and at least you’ll get a glimpse into the life of the Pope in the Papal State. Alternatively, there is always Wikipedia. Pays to prepare yourself before any big travel journey.

    Expensive? I think accomodation will be $$$ since you’d have to live outside the Vatican City (in Rome) and everything will be in Euros now. You could try to get on a tour – that way everything will be covered…

  4. Chelz said

    I was there 2 yrs back. Yes, the biggest devil visited the Pope….why can’t u? *evil grin*

  5. Kelantan Gal said

    I visited Vatican City in 2000. When you walk through the doors of Vatican City, your sins will be forgiven…. hehe… I really enjoyed it. Sistine chapel is a must.

    What was funny was seeing these loud American tourists arguing with the guide. You can’t wear sleeveless or shorts to Vatican City. Since it was summer time, you know-lah these Mat Sallehs… in spaghetti straps and what-not… So they couldn’t go in and were kicking up a fuss. Really embarrassing.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

