The soundtrack of my day

Each morning, one of the first things I do is to log on to live365.com (a paid radio service of like a million stations!) where I choose from about 25 of my presets and select what I call 'morning music', tunes which put a spring in my step and a smile on my face. You know, like Katrina and the Waves' Walking on Sunshine, or A-ha's Take on me.

I'm an old soul when it comes to music. I love all that old time jazz, from the 20s right up to the smooth stuff babes like Sade put out these days. I also love Celtic tunes and the classics and the 50s and 60s, and of course, the 80s, bad hair and all, up until nap time for the kids and right after, this ten-hour long soundtrack of my day just goes on until I settle back to a nice movie or a book in bed.

And then silence. I need – and have always needed – complete silence when I sleep. Perhaps it's my mind's way of BEGGING for reprieve after a day of Spandau, Bon Jovi, Sting, Sinatra and Beethoven.

But this old girl will rock on.

What is the soundtrack of your day?

5 Comments »

  1. Barbara Ng said

    Hi Jenn. You have a very interesting blog. I actually began reading yours and your children’s blogs last year since I became a stay-at-home mom. Then, I sorta lost your blog after Dec’05 and recently manage to find you in other mommies blog πŸ˜€ My baby girl, Ashley is 11 months now. FYI, I’m from Ipoh too and a Main Convent girl πŸ™‚ I’m 36 now. Guess we have some things in common huh? Hey, do you know Lilian Chua? I thought I saw her in your farewell photo but not too sure πŸ™‚ She was my hubby’s school mate’s ex-girlfriend (phew….long connection).

    I’m surprised to read that you & yr family have moved to the US. It’s a great country eh? You are so brave to move to the States and then stay at home to take care of two beautiful young girls. You know, sometimes I think I would go crazy staying at home taking care of Ashley as I’ve been working for almost 15 years.

    Will chat with you again later. Ashley is waking up now. Ta..

  2. Jo said

    for me, it’s definitely 988. Love the morning shows cos they will pick a subject ( current issue) and ask caller’s opinions. Liked those sessions esp when Chan Fong is on.

    Recently been listening to Andrew Bocelli’s Amore…. very goood… and Simon Webb sounds a lot like lighthouse Family.

    En You’s coming in May for a 2 week hols. Looking forward to it. And my fren from San Jose, is also back for a month … as for me, am counting down to my last day of work…..

    Take care.
    jo

  3. hi gals!

    Barbara – yea she’s one of my chee muis. Hehe she comes to this blog as well. Maybe can ‘bump’ into her. Where r u now?

    Jo – good to hear EY is going home for two weeks. can’t wait to actually hv u here so we can share the same time lol. Sigh. Miss all of u lah. How are the girls?

  4. Barbara Ng said

    Hi Jenn. I’m in KL and staying in OUG. I have not met Lilian for more than a year now. Bumped into her once at Amcorp Mall and bought some plants from her. I have her mobile no. but didn’t try to contact her 😦 Lazy me. Hope to “bump” into her here.

    I also like listening to songs in the 80’s (our era), including those by Leslie Cheung, Anita Mui, Danny Chan and Alan Tam. Brings back lots of memories of growing up in Ipoh.

    Take care.

  5. Re said

    hallo jenn

    i like the tittle of your post maybe i am like you to have a sound track in my day ..but different taste of music …may be i hear music in the morning ..and i feel that the music is still in my ear i heard in my mind what ever i go during the day …i know it is old post but i like it …

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

