Accidental finger

Sometimes, you just can't win.

I've always been a careful driver, mostly because I've been driving for only over a year. I still have that "oh God, I can't believe I went 5mph over the speed limit", and take like five reverses to park just so the car is nicely within the box.

Which is why on Sunday, just outside our condo on the way in, the notion that I'd just flipped the finger at an old guy I almost ran into bothered me so much I just have to blog about it.

You know, in case out of the billions of blogs out there, the man, who looks to be about 60 or 70 (and doesn't look like the type to be blogsurfing but I might be wrong, I always am), might visit mine and I can then apologise and say I didn't mean to be rude and I most certainly did not make a rude gesture at you. What happened was I'd turned into the condo and there was the big bright sun and I was blinded and seriously did NOT see you in front of me, but for Lokes, my husband, who stopped me in time. I know the speed limit is 5mph but I had just turned in from the main road. Swear to God, I am so sorry!

What was worse was that I started pointing at the sun and you were standing with your back against it and you might've thought that looked like I flipped you my third finger but it was my index finger and also, I wasn't yelling at you, I was vainly trying to explain why I didn't see you. I know I should've rolled down my window and instead used my talking voice but I panicked and everything just turned out like that.

I've been obsessing about this for two days now and my husband says I could apologise to you the next time we bumped into each other at the condo but I can't wait. Just need to get it out you know, so I do hope by some miracle of miracles that you read this.

I'm sorry I almost ran you down, Mister. And I did NOT flip you a finger nor yell at you. It was the sun and I know it sounds lame, but it's the truth.

Just me, being hapless old me.

Leave a Reply

