Starting young

So Rae and I were playing restaurant, where poor Skyler is relegated to the job of dishwasher in her play pen. Not that she cares because most of the time, she's just sitting there, checking her diapers out (wonder if I should go check them instead…), when I, the customer, ran out of 'cash' to pay for my fish and broccoli dinner (yuaachh).

"I've run out of cash, baby," I said.

Looking around, I callously picked the first thing that I didn't mind losing, and didn't look dangerous.

"Can I pay you with tape instead?" I asked. As in Scotch tape.

She stared at the miserable piece of plastic I'd just pulled from an old delivery box, a little disappointed.

And then she spotted her play makeup kit on my desk.

"You can pay me with makeup, mommy."

Sometimes, I wonder if she's really my kid.

2 Comments »

  1. rebecca said

    Jenn, just found your site & will check in. You’re a wonderful writer! You’re more than welcome to check out my blog, but my warning is that it’s less than light at times. It’s where I go to work out a lot of things about my Noah boy. Great to meet you yesterday, I REALLY wish we could have stayed longer *grumble* R

  2. Hey! Yea, we shld meet up again with Karli soon. Will check out your blog! Thanks for visiting!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

